What is the Florida Police Officer Minimum Age Limit?



In Florida, the minimum age requirement to become a certified law enforcement officer is 19 years old. To become a police officer in Florida, you must meet the following minimum qualifications:

  • Be at least 19 years of age for law enforcement and correctional probation
  • Be at least 18 years of age for corrections
  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Have earned a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Have not been convicted of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement
  • Have never received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States
  • Have a good moral character

Please note that specific police departments may have additional requirements, such as a certain number of college credits or prior experience in law enforcement or the military.


About the author